Posted by: Ingrid Vanderveldt | March 27, 2009

The Power of Titles…Who Made up Titles Anyways?!!!!- What is YOUR Title?!!!

Hey peeps!…okay- first of all CEASAR is back!  Opera, outside my window- again 🙂  if you want to meet Ceasar, my opera singing handyman- check yesterday’s blog and you will see the “Man Known As Ceasar”.

Second of all….I am in a dilemma and definitely in need help.  I have to finish up my new web site and my designers are asking me for my “official title”.  I have steered away from the CEO thing because really- while I love being and doing what CEO’s do- that doesn’t DEFINE me.  What defines me is the work I get to do with entrepreneurs, the adventures I take, and the rainmaking i love being a part of that empowers deals to happen.  We all also know, anything with a C in it, or a SVP, or VP or (you get my drift)- opens doors….but MAN!- there HAS TO BE MORE…something better, something more descriptive!  

Tuesday I heard a great one from Kim Overton, founder of Spibelt.  She is now the “Chief Spibeltologist”.  COOL!  

That's Kim, "Chief Spibeltologist" www.spibelt.com

That's Kim, "Chief Spibeltologist" http://www.spibelt.com

You of course have heard of Chief Googler.  Or how about Alexander Kjerulf, author of “Happy Hour is 9 to 5″…he is making MILLIONS as the “Chief Happiness Officer”…I met him at my Billionaire Girls Club co-founder Traci Fenton’s http://www.worldblu.com (The World Blu Live Conference)- talk about an organization breaking the mold and changing the way we think about titles and roles inside organizations!  Traci’s title?  CEO.  I think she’s changing it.  For those who know Traci though- CEO applies :)…and she does everything with ease, grace and beauty.

 

This is Alex, "Chief Happiness Officer".  He just LOOKS like a happy dude! www.positivesharing.com

This is Alex, "Chief Happiness Officer". He just LOOKS like a happy dude! http://www.positivesharing.com

 

 

Okay- so back to titles…. right now the promotional postcard for the On The Road with iV Tour says:

“ENTREPRENEUR. ADVENTURER. RAINMAKER.” Host, “On the Road with iV”.  

WOuld it be bad if I added “lover of all things fast and pretty” :)…”lover of all things that other say can’t be done”…

What’s the coolest title YOU have heard?  What’s YOUR title?

WOW…so many choices, so little time.  What I DO KNOW is that I LOVE finding out what makes successful people tick.  That’s why, like Napoleon Hill- I run around and collect stories and create media that shares this insight, guidance and knowledge with others.  i love combining this knowledge with my own experiences in business to create success Blueprints for entrepreneurs that gives them the blueprint to either make or grow their idea.  I LOVE seeing the non-obvious connections between opportunities and people that when put together creates deals and magic for win win opportunities.  I LOVE MAKING THINGS HAPPEN…..and then getting the adrenaline rush that adrenaline adventures/ sports has to offer as a counter balance….

Okay- so the HUNT for TITLES is ON!!!!!!  Please send me your coolest title…I would LOVE to write about it!…and if you think Titles are a bunch of bologna- would love to hear that too!

Responses

  1. Titles matter.
    C-Level titles get more respect than others.
    This is why companies have split up the “top dog” jobs into an entire alphabet (CEO,CFO, CTO, etc) — they are sharing the “status.”
    You should keep the “cache” of the conventional, but make it your own.

    How about:
    CSO (Chief Synergy Officer) ?

  2. I’m a Fire Starter. Think I was born that way…
    oxo
    D

  3. Thanks for the kind mention. Appointing myself Chief Happiness Officer has been a lot of fun and certainly gets a lot of attention.

    I previously blogged about the futility of “normal” titles here:
    http://positivesharing.com/2008/03/more-death-to-job-titles/

    That post also has a list of very cool titles from Quicken Loans’ marketing department, including:
    * Supreme Challenger of the Status Quo & Wicked Web Site Innovator
    * Flasher
    * Pixelardo da Vinci

    Neat huh?


Leave a Reply

Categories

